The Book Barista Reviews: Roman Crazy by Alice Clayton and Nina Bocci

The Book Barista logo

Title:  Roman Crazy

Series:  The Broads Abroad, #1

Author:  Alice Clayton and Nina Bocci

Release Date:  September 13, 2016

ISHO Add to Goodreads

roman-crazy

ISHO Summary

Avery Bardot steps off the plane in Rome, looking for a fresh start. She’s left behind a soon-to-be ex-husband in Boston and plans to spend the summer with her best friend Daisy, licking her wounds—and perhaps a gelato or two. But when her American-expat friend throws her a welcome party on her first night, Avery’s thrown for a loop when she sees a man she never thought she’d see again: Italian architect Marcello Bianchi.

Marcello was the man—the one who got away. And now her past is colliding with her present, a present where she should be mourning the loss of her marriage and—hey, that fettuccine is delicious! And so is Marcello…

Slipping easily into the good life of summertime in Rome, Avery spends her days exploring a city that makes art historians swoon, and her nights swooning over her unexpected what was old is new again romance. It’s heady, it’s fevered, it’s wanton, and it’s crazy. But could this really be her new life? Or is it just a temporary reprieve before returning to the land of twin-set cardigans and crustless sandwiches?

A celebration of great friendship, passionate romance, and wonderful food, Roman Crazy is a lighthearted story of second chances and living life to the fullest.

isho-my-opinion2

When I first heard that Alice Clayton and Nina Bocci were going to work together on a book I knew I’d be in for a treat.

Right from the opening lines of the book I was already laughing.  How can you not with this opening:

I WAS STARING AT A PENIS.

I was staring at a penis, and yet I couldn’t actually comprehend what I was seeing.  Which was weird, because technically that penis in question belonged to me.  Not in the anatomical sense, but in the marital sense.  As in, I’m familiar with that penis, I know that penis, I’m married to that penis, except…this penis is in fact, doing something it really shouldn’t be doing.

Avery is faced with the end of her marriage and takes up her best friend’s invitation to visit her in Rome to get away from things. At a party thrown for her by her friend, she comes face to face with “the one that got away”.  Marcello. Quite some time has gone by and now she’s got an opportunity at a second chance at true love. This is where I mention what a swoony book boyfriend Marcello is.  You can just picture yourself dodging in and out of traffic on the back of his Vespa, holding on to him…really tight.

Aside from a great second chance romance story, it was so amazing to have Rome as a backdrop.  I’ve never been to Rome (although my Italian husband and I keep saying we must go soon) so I really enjoyed all the places and attractions that were mentioned in this book.  Google images really was my friend throughout this book.  I also kept asking a friend who has traveled to Rome many times about certain places (you can see her travel blog here).

This book was an absolute pleasure to read.  I definitely look forward to reading more from both these authors.  I gave Roman Crazy five steamy hot and delicious espressos served with some very yummy cornettos.

five espressos

ISHO Teasers

wentanywhere

 

lovedtobekissed

ISHO Author Bio

 

alice-clayton

Alice Clayton worked in the cosmetics industry for over a decade before picking up a pen (read: laptop). She enjoys gardening but not weeding, baking but not cleaning up, and finally convinced her long-time boyfriend to marry her. And she finally got her Bernese Mountain Dog.

TWITTER  |  FACEBOOK  |  WEBSITE

 

nina-bocci

Nina Bocci is a novelist, publicist, eternal optimist, unabashed lipgloss enthusiast, constant apologist, and a hopeless romanticist. She has too many college degrees that she’s not using and a Lego addiction that she blames on her son.

TWITTER  |  FACEBOOK  |  WEBSITE

 

ISHO Purchase LInks

AMAZON | KOBO | B&N  | iBOOKS | AUDIBLE

 

Note: I received this ARC from the Publisher/NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

