The Book Barista Reviews: Good Boy by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy

The Book Barista logo

Title:  Good Boy

Series:  WAGs, #1

Author:  Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy

Release Date:  January 31, 2017

ISHO Add to Goodreads

good-boy

ISHO Summary

Hosting her brother’s wedding for an MVP guest list is the challenge of Jess Canning’s life. Already the family screw-up, she can’t afford to fail. And nobody (nobody!) can learn of the colossal mistake she made with the best man during a weak moment last spring. It was wrong, and there will not be a repeat. Absolutely not. Even if he is the sexiest thing on two legs.

Blake Riley sees the wedding as fate’s gift to him. Jess is the maid of honor and he’s the best man? Let the games begin. So what if he’s facing a little (fine, a lot) of resistance? He just needs to convince the stubborn blonde that he’s really a good boy with a bad rap. Luckily, every professional hockey player knows that you’ve got to make an effort if you want to score.

But Jess has more pressing issues to deal with than sexy-times with a giant man-child. Such as: Will the ceremony start on time, even though someone got grandma drunk? Does glitter ever belong at a wedding? And is it wrong to murder the best man?

Caution: May cause accidental aspiration of tea or coffee. Do not read in a public place where loud laughter is inappropriate. Contains hot but hilarious hockey players, puppy cuddling and a snarky pair of underwear.

isho-my-opinion2

We were first introduced to Blake and Jess in Us, so I was pretty excited about them getting their own book.  I just knew that I was going to love Blake.

I would definitely say that Blake is one of my all-time favourite characters.  He’s a professional hockey player.  He’s funny (sometimes downright goofy).  He’s loyal and protective of those he loves and cares about.  He’s a good and thoughtful friend. He’s got a super positive outlook. He’s Canadian (his family lives in the same city as I do!).  What’s not to love?!

Jess was a bit of the opposite.  She’s flitted from career to career and believes that her family sees her as a disappointment.  Her focus is on the new direction she wants to take in her life and doesn’t see room in it for anyone (Blake).

Blake never gave up even when Jess gave him an ice-cold shoulder.  He remained positive.  Then, when she needed a little boost, he was there for her giving her all the positive vibes a girl could want.

This writing duo has definitely joined the list of my favourite authors, both individually and collectively.  I look forward to reading more from these two.

You know when you read a book and it just makes you feel good? THIS book did that for me.  It was a fun and sexy read.  No big angsty moments.  Just a sweet and funny love story.  There was no hesitation on my part in giving Good Boy five sweet, hot and delicious caffe lattes.

five caffé latte

ISHO Purchase LInks

AMAZON | KOBO | B&N

Note: I received this ARC  in exchange for my honest opinion.

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.