WTF?! My Heart and Soul Are Breaking!

isho - rant

 

I love social media.  Facebook.  Twitter.  Instagram. Tumblr.  I love it all but for the first time EVER I feel like I need to step away from it.  Who am I kidding?  I won’t be able to stay away for long but I definitely need a break.  The thing that has given me hours of enjoyment, has allowed me to connect with so many people and even form friendships with people who, sadly, live so far away from me is now the cause of hurt in my heart and soul.

Although I’ve always been opinionated and have never been afraid to voice my opinion (hence the name of this blog), politics has never actually been my thing.  I try to pay attention to the “issues” whenever we have an election and I do my duty and exercise my privilege to vote.  I have NEVER really paid a hell of a lot of attention to what happens in other countries. UNTIL NOW.  In all the lead up to the US election I have continuously been flabbergasted by the things that have come out of the mouth of the now President- Elect (I don’t care to repeat his name) and his supporters.

I understand that his opponent was not loved by a lot of people but for those people to vote for a person who clearly is a racist, a liar and a sexist pig, not to mention his running mate who is homophobic and a misogynist, boggles my mind.  I can understand that a lot of people were not happy and were looking for change.  I have never seen so many accounts of blatantly hateful and racist occurrences as I have in two days.  Is this the change they were looking for?!

Last night I watched the news and was not actually surprised to see protests going on all across America.  What I am surprised about is the number of people asking what the protestors hope to accomplish, and  the number of people saying that the protests are all about sour grapes and sore losers. Do they not understand that people are afraid? Rightfully so.  I don’t agree with violent protest but isn’t the right to peacefully protest one of the things you are always going on about as being one of the great things about being American?  If people never protested then black and white people would still be segregated, women would not be allowed to vote and LGBTQ people would not have the right to love and marry who they want.  I guess my biggest fear is that all the strides that have been made will all be for nothing.

As I scrolled through my Facebook and Twitter feeds today my heart just kept sinking lower and lower.  I suppose what upsets me most is that it has never been ok to say racist and hurtful things to people but I think that the new President-Elect has made some folks feel like it is ok to do so now. My heart and soul are broken thinking of all the ugly possibilities. I will always respect your right to have your own opinion but you will never convince me that this man will make America great again.  From what I’ve seen in the last couple of days, quite the opposite seems to be on the horizon. I’m hoping that it is just a case of things getting worse before they get better.

You don’t have to agree with me.  This is my blog and I use it to talk and rant about things that are important to me.  I don’t claim to know anything about politics and by no means am I an expert on any of this shit.  I’m just venting about my feelings. So on that note, I’m stepping back from all the ugliness that I’m seeing on social media and I’m going to go bury my nose in a book or two for a little bit.

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

2 responses to “WTF?! My Heart and Soul Are Breaking!

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

