The Book Barista Reviews: Hard Rules by Lisa Renee Jones

The Book Barista logo

Title:  Hard Rules

Series:  Dirty Money, #1

Author:  Lisa Renee Jones

Release Date:  August 9, 2016

ISHO Add to Goodreads

 

Hard Rules

 

ISHO Summary

Wall Street meets the Sons of Anarchy in the smoldering, scorching first novel in the explosively sexy new Dirty Money series from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Renee Jones.

How bad do you want it?

The only man within the Brandon empire with a moral compass, Shane Brandon is ready to take his family’s business dealings legitimate. His reckless and ruthless brother, Derek wants to keep Brandon Enterprises cemented in lies, deceit, and corruption. But the harder Shane fights to pull the company back into the light, the darker he has to become. Then he meets Emily Stevens, a woman who not only stirs a voracious sexual need in him, but becomes the only thing anchoring him between good and evil.

Emily is consumed by Shane, pushed sexually in ways she never dreamed of, falling deeper into the all-encompassing passion that is this man. She trusts him. He trusts her, but therein lies the danger. Emily has a secret, the very thing that brought her to him in the first place, and that secret that could that destroy them both.

isho-my-opinion2

Allow me to start by saying that this is the first book I’ve read by Lisa Renee Jones and I’ll be honest when I say it was the “Wall Street meets the Sons of Anarchy” part of the summary that caught my attention.  I now must say that there was nothing in this book that I would equate to Sons of Anarchy.  Nothing at all.  That said, I did enjoy this book.

There’s lots of intrigue in this book.  Like, what is really going on in the Brandon family and who really is Emily?  After reading this book I was left with more questions than answers.  I did not realize that this book ends in a cliffhanger and that I will have to read the next books in the series to get any real answers.  I wish I had been warned about this.

I enjoyed Shane Brandon, he’s smart and sexy and does not seem fooled by any of the treachery around him.  As for Emily, I liked her most of the time.  I found myself rolling my eyes at her sometimes.

I liked this book enough to want to know what is going to happen so I will be looking out for the next book in the series which I believe will be released in February 2017.  I gave Hard Rules three cups of java and settle in for the wait for the next book.

NEW three coffees

 

ISHO Purchase LInks

AMAZON | KOBO | B&N

 

Note: I received this ARC from the Publisher/NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

