The Book Barista Reviews: On The Brink by Kate Willoughby

The Book Barista logo

Title:  On the Brink

Series:  In the Zone, #0

Author:  Kate Willoughby

Release Date:  June 28, 2016

ISHO Add to Goodreads

On the Brink

ISHO Summary

Due to popular demand, Kate Willoughby brings you Hart Griffin and Jeremy Fenton’s origin story. Find out how these two met and fell in love…

Holtzer University junior Hart Griffin won’t let anything interfere with his future as a professional hockey player. No way, no how. He’s the star forward of his college team and a first round NHL draft pick.

One hot night with a male super fan calls into question everything Hart thought he knew about his sexuality and launches him on a soul-searching journey in which nothing is as it seems and his entire world is turned upside down.

 

isho-my-opinion2

This is a prequel novella about Hart and Jeremy, two characters that were introduced in Kate Willoughby’s In The Zone Series.  As they were already a couple in the series, this is a look into how they got together.  I will admit that I don’t usually read novellas because they just aren’t long enough.  That said, I absolutely had to read this for a couple of reasons: 1)  I loved the glimpses I got into Hart and Jeremy and wanted to know more and 2) this is Kate Willoughby!  I love her writing!

I totally understand how it would be difficult for Hart to admit to himself that he was gay. He’s on the verge of beginning his professional hockey career and he’s afraid of what being gay might mean for his future career. On the opposite side of the spectrum is Jeremy.  He’s out and proud.  He’s totally attracted to Hart and I will say that he’s incredibly patient with Hart.  One hot night turns into a great friendship which then turns into more.

I absolutely loved this book (even though I did wish it was longer).  I loved Jeremy and Hart and am so glad that Kate Willoughby wrote this.  I think she did a great job on her first m/m venture.  I think she kept it realistic and stayed true to the characters.  I look forward to more in this series.  I gave On the Brink five refreshing and delicious mocha cookie crumble frappuccinos.

Five Mocha cookie crumble frappuccino

 

ISHO Purchase LInks

 AMAZON | KOBO | B&N

 

Note: I received this ARC from the author in exchange for my honest opinion.

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

