The Book Barista Reviews: Shut Out by Kellly Jamieson

The Book Barista logo

Title:  Shut Out

Series:  Bayard Hockey, #1

Author:  Kelly Jamieson

Release Date:  June 7, 2016

ISHO Add to Goodreads

Shut Out

ISHO Summary

From the bestselling author of the Heller Brothers Hockey series comes the first novel of a new hockey romance series featuring a college team whose players are heating things up both on and off the ice.
 
The Bayard College hockey team isn’t where Jacob Flass thought he’d be a season ago. He was a rising star in the Canadian major junior league, cruising toward a spot on an NHL roster—until a single disastrous night on the town brought it all crashing down. Now he’s out of options, except for playing well, studying hard, and staying away from girls. He’s not supposed to be flirting with the hottest, sweetest chick he’s ever met. But how could he possibly stay away?
 
Skylar Lynwood knows that Jacob is out of her league. She’s just trying to go with the flow, which isn’t easy when six feet and four inches of total hockey hunkiness is making a play for her one moment, then giving her the cold shoulder the next. Skylar’s head tells her that this rugged athlete isn’t worth her time, but her body says something altogether different. Risking her heart for Jacob may be the craziest thing she’s ever done . . . but she won’t let him shut her out.

isho-my-opinion2

I decided to read this one for two reasons. 1) It’s a hockey romance and you all know how much I love a good hockey romance. And 2) It’s written by Kelly Jamieson.  I’ve read her Aces Hockey series and loved it.  At this point I think I need to read ALL her books!  Reading this one was a no brainer for me.

I absolutely loved Jacob and Skylar.  They both seemed very real to me.  Both have suffered through what I consider traumatic experiences.  Which ties in with the underlying message in this book.

This book is well written and got me hooked right away.  I couldn’t put it down.  It’s a great introduction to a new series.  I easily gave Shut Out five of my favourite Tim Horton’s coffees – I just have to go the Canadian route on this since Jacob is a Canadian hockey player.

fiveTim-Hortons

 

ISHO Purchase LInks

AMAZON | KOBO | B&N

 

Note: I received this ARC from The Publisher/NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

