The Book Barista Reviews: Sour Grapes by Rachel Goodman

The Book Barista logo

Title:  Sour Grapes

Series:  Blue Plate, #2

Author:  Rachel Goodman

Release Date:  May 23, 2016

ISHO Add to Goodreads

Sour Grapes

 

ISHO Summary

Uncork this delectable Texas Hill Country romance from the critically acclaimed author of From Scratch, the “smart, sexy, and funny” debut that “piles on the Southern charm” (Publishers Weekly).

Margaret Stokes is bitter. And not in the robust fine wine or tangy dark chocolate kind of way. She just got dumped, is fed up with her job as a glorified party-planner for the rich, and can’t possibly listen to one more veiled insult from her impossible-to-please mother. So she retreats to the comfort of her grandmother’s ramshackle bed and breakfast, where the wide open vineyards are filled with surprises, from the shockingly delicious wine to the aggravating yet oh-so-tempting man who makes it.Ryan Camden’s easy approach to life encourages Margaret to loosen up and have a little fun, despite her better judgment. She resists the urge to micromanage every detail, embracing the welcome distractions of her surroundings and letting their relationship unfold at a natural rhythm. But when a health scare forces Grammy J to give up the B&B, Margaret begins to wonder if Ryan really is the man he promises—and whether the problems she tried so hard to escape ever really went away.

isho-my-opinion2

When I started reading this book I was not a fan of Margaret’s.  She just wasn’t a likeable character to me.  But as the story progressed I changed my mind about her. I felt so bad for her.  Yup.  She had my pity.  I’m sure she would’ve hated that but DAMN!!! Her mother was a first class biatch.  She loved her dad and got along with him but mostly, her dad did whatever kept her bitch of a mother happy or pleased.  Her friends were douchebags.  And as if all of the above wasn’t bad enough, she was hurt by the man she loved.

So naturally, when she meets Ryan, the sexy, flirty wine maker she’s pretty bitchy to him. Lucky for her, he’s a super patient guy.  He was a really likeable character.  It was as if he could see through all her BS.  He never gave up.

I enjoyed Margaret’s journey to understanding herself and to understanding that she didn’t need all those….shall we say “negative” people in her life.

I will mention that this is the second book in the Blue Plate series.  It went against all my OCDs to read this without reading the first book but it worked as a stand alone within a series.  I think I might just have to read the first one.

I enjoyed Sour Grapes.  The story and characters were well developed and definitely well written.  I usually rate in coffee but it just seemed appropriate to give this four red wine glasses.

four red wine glasses

 

ISHO Purchase LInks

 AMAZON | KOBO | B&N

 

 

Note: I received this ARC from the Publisher/NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

