The Book Barista Reviews: The Purest Hook by Scarlett Cole

The Book Barista logo

Title:  The Purest Hook

Series:  Second Circle Tattoos, #3

Author:  Scarlett Cole

Release Date:  May 3, 2016

ISHO Add to Goodreads

The Purest Hook

ISHO Summary

Can a love built on secrets survive?

Rugged, hot, and rock hard, Dred Zander is exactly the type of man that normally sends Pixie running. Not dreaming about running her hands down his washboard abs…and lower. The lead singer and guitarist for the band Preload embodies trouble behind his quick smile and guarded eyes, and Pixie left trouble behind her years ago along with the name Sarah Jane Travers and the pathetic trailer her mom called home. With her abusive past in her past, she has a new life, a new family at Second Circle, and a dream of opening her own business. She needs capital and time. What she doesn’t need is a tempting long-haired rocker or the paparazzi that follow him around.

But Dred has other ideas. Pixie’s sweet hazel eyes, purple hair and kaleidoscopic tattoo of exotic flowers that swirl up her arm haunt his dreams, and he knows she wants him too. He just has to convince her. But as a juicy exposé threatens to expose their pasts, and a blackmailer terrorizes their present, Pixie and Dred have to decide what really matters and fight like hell to keep it.

isho-my-opinion2

I’ve always wished that I was more eloquent in my reviews. I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this before so I apologize for being repetitive.  I loved this book so much that I can’t even say enough to convey how much.

Why did I love this book, you ask.  Well… without going on and on, here are a few reasons:

Reason #1:  In the previous two books we were teased with hints of attraction between Dred and Pixie (at least that’s how I remember it).  So obviously, it’s nice to have that story play itself out.

Reason #2:  Some of this book takes place in Toronto.  That’s right! The Tdot. The 6ix.  I love that the author mentions places and locations that I actually know.

Reason #3:  Maybe I loved Dred and Pixie so much because they were both so damaged from childhoods that were less than stellar. Way way less!  Yet they were still willing to try.  Even when things seemed so awful, they trudged through to get what they wanted and needed from each other.

Reason #4:  Trent and Cujo are the best brothers/friends a girl could ask for.  It was nice seeing them again in this book. I loved Trent and Cujo’s relationship with Pixie.  I also really loved the relationship that Dred has with his band members/roommates.

Reason #5:  In the book, Dred writes a song for Pixie and if you click here you can actually listen to it while watching the book trailer.

Reason #6:  Dred is a super sexy rock star.  That is all!!!

All in all, I just loved this story.  I loved their journey.  I definitely look forward to more from Scarlett Cole and this series.  I gave The Purest Hook five cups of my favourite Tim Horton’s coffee served with some of Dred’s favourite honey cruller doughnuts.

fiveTim-Hortons

 

ISHO Purchase LInks

 AMAZON | KOBO | B&N

Note:  I received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

