The Book Barista Reviews: Under the Spotlight by Kate Willoughby

The Book Barista logo

Title:  Under the Spotlight

Series:  In the Zone, #4

Author:  Kate Willoughby

ISHO Add to Goodreads

UnderTheSpotlight

ISHO Summary

Stage actress Christine Caspary couldn’t care less about hockey, but when she first sees Joe Rutherford playing in a Barracudas game her mind goes to all sorts of dirty places. By happy chance, her work with Grant A Wish gives her an opportunity to meet him in the flesh.

Right winger Joe Rutherford saw Christine perform when the team went to see Chicago and was so taken with her, he secretly saw the show a second time, alone. When the gorgeous actress with spectacular legs contacts him out of the blue asking for a favor, it’s a no-brainer.

Their chemistry is off the charts. Things heat up quickly and they can’t keep their hands off each other. Soon they’re hooking up whenever their busy schedules allow and having hot phone sex every night at midnight when they don’t. But Joe’s time in the hockey spotlight is fading, just as Christine’s star begins to rise. When she gets her big break into a TV career, how will Joe take to being the arm candy for a change?

isho-my-opinion2

I’ve REALLY enjoyed this series so I was pretty happy when I received the ARC from the author in exchange for my honest opinion.  Thankfully, Kate Willoughby was gracious enough to give me the ARC without me having to resort to begging.  I would’ve begged.  I really would’ve!

I couldn’t help but love Joe.  He’s a guy who loves hockey.  As a veteran player he’s facing some tough decisions now that he’s on the tail end of his career.  He’s one of the older and wiser guys on the team and because of it, the coach asks him to mentor one of the rookies [This is one of the back stories that had my full attention].  He truly is one of the good guys.  That’s why when Christine approaches him to do something for a sick little girl, he’s all in.  Of course, it helps that he’s seen Christine before and was very attracted to her.

Christine is immediately attracted to Joe’s rugged good looks and they hit it off instantly.  As a couple, they face some hurdles.  They both travel because of their careers and have to make an effort to connect.  Also, whereas Joe’s career is on the tail end, Christine’s is up and coming and is thriving.

I loved that both Joe and Christine were a bit older and were both mostly mature about what they wanted from their careers and their lives.

Like the other books in this series, you get to meet a whole group of characters with interactions that are comical at times.  To put it simply, just a pleasure to read.

I gave Under the Spotlight five hot, steamy and delicious grande lattes.  I look forward to reading more from Kate Willoughby.

 

five-starburcks

ISHO Purchase LInks

AMAZON | KOBO | B&N

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

