The Book Barista Reviews: The Strongest Steel by Scarlett Cole

The Book Barista logo

Title:  The Strongest Steel

Series:  Second Circle Tattoos #1

Author:  Scarlett Cole

Release Date:  July 7, 2015

ISHO Add to Goodreads

TheStrongestSteel

ISHO SummaryHarper Connelly never expected to find herself outside of a tattoo parlor at one in the morning, summoning the nerve to take back her past. She’s determined to forget her old life and is looking for an artist who can tattoo over the scars on her back.

Trent Andrews, local legend and owner of the Second Circle tattoo studio, has his own reasons for specializing in inking over scars. And in spite of her mysterious past and the difficult road ahead, he quickly realizes that Harper is funny, smart, and–under her ridiculously oversized clothing and SPF 100 sunscreen–totally hot. He’s happy to take on the challenge of designing a meaningful and deadly full-back tattoo for her.

But when cryptic messages start appearing on Harper’s phone, strange deliveries arrive at her door, and Second Circle is vandalized, Harper is convinced that her ex-boyfriend has tracked her down, and worse, that he knows about Trent. Running was the only thing that saved her last time, but now that she’s started to put down roots in Miami, she’ll have to decide if she can finally fight back instead.

isho-my-opinion2I received this ARC from St. Martin’s Press/Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion.  So, I’m going to be honest.  I loved the cover of this book (I almost feel the need to find out who that sexy man is).  Then I loved the title.  Then I read the synopsis.  Tattoo artist…I’m there!!!

I was immediately absorbed in this story.  Victim of vicious assault goes to tattoo artist to cover up her horrible scars.  Hook, line and sinker.  After all that she’s been through, Harper decides to go to Trent to get her tattoo.  Trent, having experience with tattooing scars, is totally sympathetic to what Harper is going through.  Firstly, I thought that she was very brave to go through with the tattoo.  Secondly…Trent is my newest book boyfriend.  He isn’t just sympathetic.  He is patient and kind.

As their relationship progresses, first as friendship and then romance, Harper comes out of her shell more and more and becomes open and friendly with more people than ever since her attack and Trent is the cause of that.  Did I mention that he’s my new book boyfriend? *swoon*

Of course, it wouldn’t be as exciting a read if there wasn’t some angst and turmoil thrown in for us.  After all, her ex is still out there.  I’ll say no more on that topic.

I loved Scarlett Cole’s writing.  As I mentioned before, I was sucked in right away and couldn’t put the book down.  I was happy to be told by the author that there would be more books in this series.  This is exciting because the secondary characters sound pretty awesome to me so of course, I am so down for that!!! Also, I found out that she is a fellow Torontonian (that’s a word right?).  Let’s hear it for the Tdot!!!

The Strongest Steel got five hot, sweet and delicious coffees from me with some pastries thrown in to make them better.

NEW Five coffee

ISHO Purchase LInksAMAZON | KOBO | iBOOKS | B&N

ISHO Author BioScarlett Cole is a contemporary romantic suspense / contemporary romance author (represented by Beth Phelan at The Bent Agency). Her debut novel, THE STRONGEST STEEL, book one in the Second Circle Tattoos series, will be published by St. Martin’s Press on 07/07/15.

When Scarlett isn’t writing, she spends her time reading, hoarding mason jars, and working out to off-set an epic sour candy habit.

Having travelled the world for work and fun, Scarlett is a citizen of both Britain and Canada. A true city-dweller, she considers Toronto and Manchester home and likes to set her books in vibrant locations such as Miami and Los Angeles.

ISHO Author LinksWEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | GOODREADS

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.