The Book Barista Reviews: Priest by Sierra Simone

 The Book Barista logoTitle:  Priest

Author:  Sierra Simone

Release Date:  June 29, 2015

ISHO Add to Goodreads

Priest cover

ISHO SummaryThere are many rules a priest can’t break.

A priest cannot marry. A priest cannot abandon his flock. A priest cannot forsake his God.

I’ve always been good at following rules.

Until she came.

My name is Tyler Anselm Bell. I’m twenty-nine years old. Six months ago, I broke my vow of celibacy on the altar of my own church, and God help me, I would do it again.

I am a priest and this is my confession.

***Priest is a standalone, full-length novel with an HEA. For mature audiences only.***

isho-my-opinion2When I heard about this book I knew that I HAD to read it!  I managed to obtain an ARC in exchange for my honest opinion. Everything about this book compelled me to read it. I wasn’t disappointed.

I will just say right off that being Catholic and believing that priests should marry is one of the reasons I wanted to read this book.  Secondly, the excerpts that I saw were hot, hot, hot!

I was hooked on Tyler Bell right from the beginning.  I got a big kick out of him calling the confessional the “Ancient Booth of Death”. [As I was snickering away about this I mentioned it to my second born, who was in the room, she did not see the humour in this *sigh*].  The book is told from Tyler’s point of view, which is always a win for me.  From the moment he hears Poppy’s voice in the confessional he struggles with his vow of celibacy, his need to be a priest, his need to serve God and his need for Poppy.

Throughout the book, no one is as hard on Tyler as he is himself.

And the worst thing was that I knew He wasn’t angry with me.  He’d forgiven me before it had even happened, and I didn’t deserve it.  I deserved to be punished, a hail of fire from above, bitter waters, an IRS audit, something, anything dammit, because I was a miserable loathsome, lustful man who’d taken advantage of an emotionally vulnerable woman.

As I read along I felt a bit of desperation for both of them.  I felt that no matter what the outcome was, one or both of them would be unhappy.  It was almost as if there would be a no win situation. If Tyler remained a priest, he would not be able to be with the woman he loved.  If Tyler left the priesthood, he would miss his vocation and his need to serve God.  As for Poppy, if Tyler left she would have to live with knowing that she came between a man and his duty to God.

I had knots in my stomach as I read. I really did! I couldn’t see how it would be ok in the end.  There were a few twists in this book that surprised me.  Don’t worry, I won’t spoil any of it for you.  You’ll just have to read for yourself and trust that Sierra Simone [and God 😉] would find a way.

I really enjoyed this book and didn’t have to think twice about giving it five cups of hot and fulfilling coffee.

NEW Five coffee

ISHO Teasers

Priest Teaser

ISHO Purchase LInks

AMAZON | iBOOKS | B&N | KOBO

ISHO Giveaway

Click HERE for a Rafflecopter giveaway (Signed paperback of Priest & $20 Amazon Gift Card):

ISHO Author BioSierra Simone is a former librarian who spent too much time reading romance novels at the information desk. She lives with her husband and family in Kansas City.

ISHO Author LinksINSTAGRAM | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | GOODREADS

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

