I feel a rant coming on…

isho - rant

Throughout the course of any given day I see shit stuff on my Facebook feed that either disturbs, angers or saddens me.  I sometimes speak up but mostly I don’t.  I keep scrolling down my feed because sometimes I feel like my thoughts or feelings aren’t “politically correct” or that some might feel that I’m irresponsible for having those thoughts and feelings.

So, here goes…

Food, drink and the environment

I try to do my part in “saving the environment”. I recycle.  I compost (by way of the organics program in my region).  Yes it disturbs me to see so many posts about what’s happening with our food and water (I say water because that’s almost exclusively what I drink). [Note: this is where I become politically incorrect] With all this, sometimes I think “why don’t I just freakin die?!”. I can’t eat or drink anything without getting some kind of guilt complex.  Sadly, I am one of those people that doesn’t only eat for sustenance and energy.  I actually enjoy food.  Too much so, or so my scale tells me.  I don’t want to stop eating Nutella despite what’s happening to the palm trees.

Animal and child abuse

Like anyone else with a shred of decency and a heart, the thought that some human beings are so vile and despicable as to gravely hurt an animal or child truly disturbs me.  On any given day, I will scroll down my Facebook feed and see horrendous proof of this.  I don’t want to see it!  I’m not burying my head in the sand.  I’ll happily sign any petition that is presented to me that I feel is worthwhile but I don’t want to constantly be bombarded with such awful images that tear my heart to shreds.

Mean assholes people hiding behind their computer monitors

I’m astounded by how mean people can be on social media.  When did it become ok to say mean and hurtful things to people?  When did it become ok to not empathize with people?  When did it become ok to treat others as less than human?  Why does hiding behind that monitor take away some people’s humanity?  Does anyone ever stop and ask themselves if they would say these things to that person’s face?  I know, so many questions that sadly will never get answers.  I see it directed at celebrities, authors and many others.  You don’t have to like everything that anyone says or does but does that mean you have to be a mean and nasty troll about it?

I’m sure there are more things I could find to rant about but my lunch time is almost over and I have to get back to work.

I’m sorry if I’ve offended anyone.  I know there are those that will say or feel that I’m being irresponsible or ignorant.  Ultimately, it is your right to think or feel that but at the end of the day, this is how I feel.

Also, I feel that I should’ve warned you before that I am PMSing.  That is all!

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

4 responses to “I feel a rant coming on…

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

