The Book Barista Reviews: Lawless in Leather by Melanie Scott

The Book Barista logo

Title:  Lawless in Leather

Series:  New York Saints #3

Author:  Melanie Scott

ISHO Add to Goodreads

LawlessInLeather

ISHO SummaryReina Easton never expected to be training a cheerleading squad for a baseball team. But the owner of the building where her burlesque club is housed is threatening to sell, and she needs to get a deposit together.

Malachi Coulter can’t believe that Alex Winters wants cheerleaders for their team. When he meets Reina, he can’t deny his attraction… He’s just not sure that Reina’s wild ways are what he’s looking for. Reina isn’t thrilled about finding herself attracted to a guy like Mal, ex-army, motorcycle, security, tough guy.

When a crazed fan starts causing trouble, Mal is pulled in two directions. He wants to shut the squad down but Reina wants the money. Can a former bad boy and a former bad girl team up to win the day or are they just destined to strike out?

isho-my-opinion2This is the third book in the New York Saints Series. I jumped at the opportunity to get it from NetGalley (in exchange for my honest opinion, of course) seeing as I loved the first two books.

Melanie Scott sure does know how to write a sexy hero.  Mal is the head of security for the New York Saints, a team he bought with his two friends, Alex and Lucas (see the first two books for their stories). This is where I tell you that Mal is tattooed and rides a motorcycle.  NEED I SAY MORE?! Well yes, I do need to mention that after suffering through a terrorist act with his two friends, Mal joined the armed forces and considers himself a protector.

I really loved Reina.  She’s smart, successful and sexy and she does NOT need a man to look after her.  After dealing with a former boyfriend that was heading towards being abusive she doesn’t want anyone telling her what to do. So when she meets Mal, the “Freakin’ hot dark lord” (her words, not mine) she’s instantly attracted to him.  She’s a straight talker and lays it all out for him.  She does not beat around the bush.  Reina also gets extra points from me for owning a Maine Coon named Wash.

The two together sizzle!  They both have to keep their tendencies to over protect (Mal) and to refuse to be looked after (Reina) in check so that they can see where their relationship will go.

I gave Lawless In Leather four hot and steamy cappuccinos that can be enjoyed slowly and deliberately.

four cappuccinos

ISHO Purchase LInksAMAZON | KOBO | B&N

ISHO Author BioI was born in Melbourne, Australia but grew up in the country surrounded by green rolling hills and many cows. Melbourne got me back for university and I’ve been a city girl ever since. Mostly in Melbourne, a brief sojourn in London. My life, apart from the day job, revolves around books, writing, the odd sewing, knitting, spinning or quilting binge and taking orders from my feline overlords.

My two great reading loves have always been romance and fantasy. I grew up reading Tolkien alongside L.M. Montgomery and Susan Cooper, Diana Wynne Jones and David Eddings mixed with Heyer, Austen and all the Harlequin and Loveswept books I could find. So I guess it’s inevitable that I wound up writing books that incorporate both genres.

I’m currently writing a contemporary romance trilogy for St. Martin’s Press.

 ISHO Author LinksWEBSITE FACEBOOK  |  TWITTER  |  GOODREADS

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

