Now I’ve Seen Mr. Grey!

Mr. Grey Will See You Now

Yesterday, my sister-in-law Lori and I had the opportunity to watch a preview screening of Fifty Shades of Grey (thanks to Linda Barnard of The Star – you can see her story here).

I think anyone who knows me knows that I loved the Fifty Shades Trilogy and have always been a supporter of the series, even at times feeling like I’ve been a defender of sorts.  [just for the record, I haven’t liked the feeling of always seeming to be defending the book/fic/movie].

FiftyShadesofGrey4f8cff4d

To put it simply, I loved the movie! It was everything that I expected and then some. Now let me break it down for you in point form:

  • Jamie Dornan did a fine job of capturing Christian Grey’s intensity. He’s a very serious guy who once in a while let’s you get a peek at his sense of humour.  And damn! That man is hot! I know quite a few ladies that I will be watching this movie again with that really wish that Charlie Hunnam had stayed on as Christian Grey [let it go!].  All I would say to them is go watch it with an open mind and give Jamie a chance.
  • Dakota Johnson nailed it as Anastasia.  I think the fact that all the “holy cows” and “holy shits” and inner monologues were left out of the movie allows her to come across as more mature.
  • There has been lots of talk of their “lack” of chemistry.  I disagree.  I thought they worked well together. And yes, I’ll say that the sex was steamy and hot and that there was lots of it [even though I’ve read some reports that it was tame].
  • The screenplay writer was true to the book and did not deviate much from what was written.  I liked that!
  • The soundtrack for this movie is phenomenal! Annie Lennox’s I Put A Spell On You is….GAH! I LOVE IT!!!! The Weeknd has two songs in it.  Frank Sinatra.  The Rolling Stones. Ellie Goulding. That’s just to name a few.  I’m definitely buying this soundtrack!

There has been lots of talk of Fifty Shades being abuse.  As I watched this movie I tried to be objective and look at those scenes and consider whether or not it could be abuse. Honestly, I could not make the connection.  Ana makes informed decisions as to whether or not she wants to be with him right to the end of the film.  Yes, he’s controlling and yes he’s a bit of a stalker.  He’s also a fictional alpha male character who is a multi-millionaire and used to getting his way.  At the end of the day, Ana is the one who holds all the cards.

Unlike some people, I will not judge you if you’ve truly hated the book and/or the movie.  That’s your choice.  Therefore, I request the same respect from you. Don’t judge me because I’ve liked these books and loved this movie.

I’m going to see this movie again tomorrow on a girls’ night out.  CAN’T WAIT!!!

collection-fiftyshades-gallery_0

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

4 responses to “Now I’ve Seen Mr. Grey!

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

