The Book Barista Reviews: Mine To Take by Jackie Ashenden

The Book Barista logo

Title:  Mine To Take

Series:  Nine Circles

Author:  Jackie Ashenden

Release Date:  November 25, 2014

ISHO Add to Goodreads

MineToTake

ISHO SummaryFirst in a brand new series featuring the members of the Nine Circles Club—friends bound together by power, secrets, need…and the love they will find and stop at nothing to keep.

Passion always comes at a price.

Gabriel Woolf is unstoppable. A ruthless businessman, he has perfected the art of revenge. Ever since his mother’s death, Gabriel has harbored only one wish: To take down the man who ruined their lives. But all bets are off when he meets his father’s step-daughter, Honor St. James. Beautiful and innocent, she is everything Gabriel never knew he wanted—and now there’s no turning back…

Is her desire worth the risk?

Honor wasn’t born yesterday. She knows that Gabriel is a wolf in sheep’s clothing, willing to cross any line to get what he wants…herself included. But Gabriel’s passion for Honor—in spite of her connection to the man he hates the most—cannot be denied…and the feeling is utterly mutual. Can Gabriel be trusted? The only thing she knows for sure is how he makes her feel. And she can’t keep herself from coming back to him, over and over again…

isho-my-opinion2

I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.  I’m not gonna lie.  The cover totally got my full attention but then the summary got me.  I love the idea of reading a new series as it’s released.

Right from the beginning I wondered how Gabriel was going to “take down” the man who ruined his mother’s and his life without hurting Honor (the step-daughter of his nemesis and his friend’s sister).  He is consumed with vengeance and anger and I kept wondering how he’d ever be able get past it. As more information came to light I found myself more and more intrigued about what Gabriel and Honor would do.

I really liked Honor.  I found her to be incredibly strong in the face of all that was being revealed to her.   I found myself surprised by her reactions.  At the end of the day, she was strong enough for everyone.

As I mentioned before, by the end of the book I was totally intrigued about what was going on.  Things were not exactly as they seemed and I am anxiously waiting for book two, Make You MineI expect that some questions will be answered but that new ones will come about.  Exciting!

I gave Mine To Take four strong, bold cups of java.  It would’ve been five if I had more answers.  I’m hoping they will come in the next book.

NEW four coffee

 

ISHO Author Bio

Jackie has been writing fiction since she was eleven years old. Mild mannered fantasy/SF/pseudo-literary writer by day, obsessive romance writer by night, she used to balance her writing with the more serious job of librarianship until a chance meeting with another romance writer prompted her to throw off the shackles of her day job and devote herself to the true love of her heart – writing romance. She particularly likes to write dark, emotional stories with alpha heroes who’ve just got the world to their liking only to have it blown wide apart by their kick-ass heroines.

She lives in Auckland, New Zealand with her husband, the inimitable Dr Jax, two kids, two cats and some guppies (possibly dead guppies by the time you read this). When she’s not torturing alpha males and their stroppy heroines, she can be found drinking chocolate martinis, reading anything she can lay her hands on, posting random crap on her blog, or being forced to go mountain biking with her husband.

ISHO Author Links

WEBSITE | GOODREADS | TWITTER | FACEBOOK

 

 

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

