The Book Barista Reviews Last Light by M. Pierce

Logo

Title:  Last Light

Author:  M. Pierce

Series:  Night Owl

Release Date:  October 28, 2014

ISHO Add to Goodreads

LastLight

 

ISHO SummaryMatt Sky is missing. After a solo ascent of Longs Peak that left only a large blood stain, tatters of climbing clothing, and the tracks of an animal in the snow, he is presumed dead …

Hannah Catalano is guarding a secret …

Tensions rise, secrets grow bigger, and passions run deeper in the highly anticipated second book in the Night Owl Trilogy.

 

isho-my-opinion2I received an ARC of Last Light from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

After Night Owl (the first book in this trilogy) I was extremely anxious to read this book. I NEEDED to know what happened to Matt. (If you read it you’ll know what I’m taking about.)

As I started reading this I was relieved to see what actually happened to Matt but then that relief quickly melted away to “WTF?!”  Matt, who is painfully uncomfortable in the limelight conjures up a plan to get him out of the public eye.  He requires Hannah to help him achieve his plan but soon things begin to happen that clearly indicate that his plan just wasn’t the best idea.

Hannah gets attention as Matt’s book Night Owl is “leaked” on the internet.  Aside from being the one and only Hannah in his story she is also accused of being the one that actually leaked the book.

Hannah comes to the realization that for Matt, his writing will always come first.  In the mean time, Matt is finding it difficult to be without Hannah.  The WTF???!!! moments just keep happening.  I found myself yelling at this book. [Note: I was yelling at it in my head.  Not out loud. No need to have me committed.]

Part of what I’ve referred to as WTF???!!! moments are two new characters: Melanie and Seth.  They had me almost tearing my hair out for creating awkward situations on multiple occasions. They were both instrumental in propelling the story forward.  I can’t say why because I don’t want to spoil anything and I can’t trust my big mouth. [Note to M. Pierce:  If you’re reading this, please please please write a book about Seth!!!!]

I cannot end this post without mentioning Laurence, Matt’s pet rabbit. I still love him and I love that Matt loves him too.

I’m not gonna lie.  At first I was wondering why I wasn’t getting into this book as quickly as I did with Night Owl but then I was so into it, I couldn’t put it down.  This is why Last Light gets five cups of delicious steamy cappuccino.

five cappuccino

ISHO Purchase LInks

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Target | iBooks | Kobo

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

