The Book Barista Reviews The Devil in Denim by Melanie Scott

Logo

 

TheDevilInDenim

ISHO SummaryLife Just Threw Her A Curveball.

As the team-owner’s daughter, Maggie Jameson grew up in the New York Saints’ stadium—glove, cap, hot dogs, and all. Baseball’s in her blood, and she’s always dreamed of the day when she would lead the Saints to victory herself. That was before her dad had to sell the team to Alex Winters. The fast-talking, fiercely attractive businessman has a baseball pedigree that’s distinctly minor league. Maggie wants to hate him but his skills of seduction, however, are off the charts.

Will Love Be A Home Run?

Alex could never have imagined how much this team means to Maggie. He needs her to help show the players that they’re still a family…even if he and Maggie are at the verge of exchanging blows. But her fiery determination and gorgeous looks prove irresistible to Alex. And much as he wants to relegate their relationship to the playing field—and get the Saints back in the game—Alex just can’t help himself: What he wants to win most is Maggie’s heart…

ISHO Add to Goodreads

isho-my-opinion2I received The Devil in Denim from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.  I’m always up for a good sports romance with a hot cover.

Right from the beginning, I immediately felt for Maggie.  She’s basically had the rug pulled out from under her.  Her dad has sold her legacy and she’s unable to understand why he’s done it.  She lives and breathes the team and is suspicious of the new owners.

The team has been sold to Alex and his two partners (I’m looking forward to their books in the series).  I REALLY liked him! He’s a successful business man and hot as hell.  The chemistry between him and Maggie is palpable but she constantly compares him to the devil and tries desperately not to like him or even acknowledge the attraction. But what’s not to like?! He’s just too hot to be denied.

There were times in the book when I wanted to shake Maggie.  Growing up the daughter of a baseball team owner, she had a sense of entitlement to the team.  I understand where she got that but that doesn’t automatically make her the best CEO.  I think she eventually comes to terms with this.

I really enjoyed this book and give it five delicious cups of java. I’m definitely looking forward to the next books in this series.

five-coffee-cups

ISHO Author Bio

I was born in Melbourne, Australia but grew up in the country surrounded by green rolling hills and many cows. Melbourne got me back for university and I’ve been a city girl ever since. Mostly in Melbourne, a brief sojourn in London. My life, apart from the day job, revolves around books, writing, the odd sewing, knitting, spinning or quilting binge and taking orders from my feline overlords.

My two great reading loves have always been romance and fantasy. I grew up reading Tolkien alongside L.M. Montgomery and Susan Cooper, Diana Wynne Jones and David Eddings mixed with Heyer, Austen and all the Harlequin and Loveswept books I could find. So I guess it’s inevitable that I wound up writing books that incorporate both genres.

I’m currently writing a contemporary romance trilogy for St. Martin’s Press.

 

ISHO Author LinksWEBSITE FACEBOOK  |  TWITTER  |  GOODREADS

 

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

