The Book Barista: ARC Review Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting

Logo

I received an ARC of Clipped Wings from NetGalley for my honest opinion.

***

ClippedWings

Their body art is hot. Their chemistry is even hotter.

From her dark hair sweeping below her waist to her soft, sexy curves, Tenley Page intrigues tattoo artist Hayden Stryker in a way no one else ever has…especially when she asks him to ink a gorgeous, intricate design on her back. Yet for all her beauty, there is something darkly tragic and damaged about Tenley that Hayden is everything.

Covered in ink and steel, Hayden is everything Tenley has never dared to want, awakening a desire to explore more than the art adorning his stunning body. Trapped by a past that leaves her screaming from nightmares, Tenley sees Hayden as the perfect escape. Although he has secrets too, if they both keep themselves guarded perhaps their intense physical connection will remain only that.

But nothing, not even passion, can keep them safe from their pasts…

***

The moment that I heard, via my Twitter feed, that this book was being published I couldn’t contain my excitement.  I immediately messaged my book bestie and practically jumped up and down telling her about it.  We both knew that we had to read this book.

I loved this book so much that I’m actually at a loss for words as to what to say about it.  Obviously, that won’t do so here goes my review opinion.  Just please note that no matter what I say, it does not do justice to this story.

Hayden and Tenley are two very broken and damaged people. Although they carry on with their lives, the tragedies that they have survived in their pasts are very much in the present with them.

Tenley tries not to allow anyone in to her life but she is drawn to the people at Inked Armor and makes new friends.  She is drawn to Hayden and is curious about his ink. She also wants him to work on a tattoo she’s designed. Their chemistry is undeniable.

Hayden is also drawn to Tenley. He constantly visits his aunt’s shop across from his tattoo shop, where Tenley works, just to speak to her. He can’t stop thinking about her.  He’s compelled to be with her, despite her reluctance to let him in. When he finds out that she wants a tattoo, he cannot stand the idea of anyone but him doing it for her.

Hayden has a weakness for cupcakes and lucky for him, Tenley makes great cupcakes.  I can never again look at a cupcake and not think of Hayden. 🙂

Of course, my post wouldn’t be complete without mentioning TK, the cat that Tenley finds.  Nothing warms my heart more than a hot guy with a kitten *swoon*.  Wait…make that a hot, inked, pierced guy with a kitten.

One of the many things that is great about this book is that the story is told from both Hayden and Tenley’s point of view.  I always love to get both perspectives.

This is book one in the series and it does end on a cliffhanger.  I cannot wait to get more Hayden and Tenley in Inked Armor (book 2 in the series).

Clipped Wings gets five hot and steamy cups of java served with cupcakes of course.

five-coffee-cups

You can also read Cupcakes & Ink which is a prequel to Clipped Wings.  In this prequel you get a little bit of insight into what Tenley and Hayden first think of each other.
***

Buy / Pre-Order Links

Kobo: Inked Armor
Kobo: Cracks in the Armor
(not listed yet)
Helena Hunting lives on the outskirts of Toronto with her incredibly tolerant family and two moderately intolerant cats. She’s putting her English degree to good use by writing popular fiction. She is the author of Clipped Wings, her debut novel, and Inked Armor.
Helena

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

2 responses to “The Book Barista: ARC Review Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting

  • Staci Pope

    Before I read your review, I had previously added this book to my TBR list. Now after reading your review, this book will be on my next books to buy list…at the top of it.

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

