The Book Barista: Launch Day Blitz Kaleidoscope by Kristen Ashley

Logo

Kaleidoscope-Launch-Day-Blitz

Kaleidoscop

Sexy, gifted, and loyal, PI Jacob Decker is a tall, cool drink of perfection who had Emmanuelle Holmes at “hello.” His relationship with Emme’s best friend kept them apart for years, but things have changed. Now that a case has brought him to Gnaw Bone, Colorado, the road is wide open for Emme and Deck to explore something hotter and deeper than Emme dreamed possible. So why is she sabotaging the best thing that’s ever happened to her? 

It isn’t easy to catch Deck off guard, but Emme does just that when she walks back into his life after nine long years. The curvy brunette had her charms back in the day, but now she’s a bona fide knockout . . . and she wants to rekindle their friendship. Deck, however, wants more. Emme’s always been the one; she excites Deck’s body and mind like no other woman can. But a dark chapter from Emme’s past overshadows their future together. Now only Deck can help her turn the page-if she’ll let him

***

Kristen Ashley may very well be one of my all time favourite authors. [Note:  How could she not be? After all, she did create my forever book boyfriend Tack Allen]. Amongst one of my favourite series is the Colorado Mountain Series.  Kaleidoscope is book 6 in this series and we finally get Deck’s story.  We were first introduced to Deck in Breathe, as he is Chace’s best friend.

Deck and Emme have always gotten along.  When Deck was dating Emme’s best friend the two of them always enjoyed each other’s company.  After being apart for nine years they meet up again and it’s clear that they are going to be more than just friends.  Deck being the alpha male that he is, lays it all out for Emme.

But he’d again called me “baby.”

And I needed to address that.

So I asked, “What is that?”

His head cocked and his eyebrows drew together. “What’s what?”

I drew in breath and on the exhale, stated, “You calling me baby.” Then I went on quickly, “Not that I don’t like it. It’s sweet. It’s just not…” I hesitated, “us.”

Something happened to his eyes, his face, his whole big body and that something made me brace at the same time it made my heartbeat escalate.

“You know what it is,” he said softly.

I didn’t.

“I don’t,” I shared.

His eyes stayed locked to mine and I knew him relatively well, or I used to. But even if we hadn’t been separated for years, I still would not have been forewarned to the fact he was about to blow my mind.

“Before, we had Elsbeth between us. My head was fucked about that, about her, and it took almost a decade to get it unfucked. Lookin’ back, havin’ you back, I now know and I reckon you know, that’s the way it was. She was between us. She knew it too. And she didn’t like it. But it didn’t matter. My head was fucked so I couldn’t see clear of her and not doin’ that, I didn’t see you.”

I knew my lips had parted. I also knew my eyes got big. And last, I had no clue what to say.

So I said nothing.

“Now she isn’t between us,” he finished.

It was then I knew what the “baby” business was.

I just had no idea how to react to it because I never considered it. He was beautiful. He was kind. He was smart. He was funny and interesting and affectionate.

Deck is a very perceptive guy and when things start to bother Emme (even though she doesn’t realize they are) he calls her on it and helps her deal with a traumatic experience from her past that she thought she was over.

As is common with Kristen Ashley books, she brings in characters from other books.  I love it when this happens!!!  It’s like visiting with old friends. All the ladies from the previous Colorado Mountain Series books become Emme’s posse and help her when she needs advice.  Of course, we also get small glimpses and mentions of Max, Tate *sigh*, Chase and Ty.

I love the kaleidoscope!  I won’t say anymore than that because I might be tempted to spoil and I don’t want to do that.

Also, I think you’ll love the names that Deck and Emme use and disagree on for her vehicle and for the dogs in this book.

Needless to say, I really did love this book.  I give it five hot cups of java.

five-coffee-cups

Don’t forget to enter this Rafflecopter giveaway for a chance to win a bound copy or a digital copy of Kaleidoscope. There are five of each up for grabs.  Good luck!!!

Mark your calendars!!!  On February 5, there will be a  LIVE Spreecast Chat with Kristen Ashley at 7 PM EST. Go ahead and RSVP to watch and participate http://www.spreecast.com/events/live-chat-with-kristen-ashley–2

About the author:

Kristen Ashley grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana, and has lived in Denver, Colorado, and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multigenerational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland, and Kristen grew up listening to the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon, and Whitesnake. Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music and love was a good way to grow up.  And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better.

Kristen Ashley

Here are Kristen Ashley’s Social Media Links:

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

You can buy Kaleidoscope at:

Amazon

B&N

iTunes

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

3 responses to “The Book Barista: Launch Day Blitz Kaleidoscope by Kristen Ashley

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

