The Book Barista: The Weight of Words by Georgina Guthrie

Logo

I was fortunate enough to receive an ARC of this book in exchange for my honest review.

TWOW

Aubrey Price is in the final months of her undergraduate degree at the University of Toronto. Bright, witty and fiercely independent, 
Aubrey works part-time for the college Dean and has her sights set on graduating with distinction. When she meets Dean Grant’s son, Daniel, the TA in her senior Shakespearean studies course, a shared love of the Bard’s works and an instant mutual attraction draw Aubrey and Daniel together. Unfortunately, a strict anti-fraternizing policy, made more perilous by a black mark on Daniel’s record, keeps them apart.

Against this academic backdrop, Aubrey and Daniel navigate their way through a steamy courtship, their forbidden romance aided, abetted and sometimes thwarted by a colorful cast of friends, family and classmates.

As soon as I heard about this book being published, I knew I wanted to read it.  It’s one of the book releases that I’ve been most excited about.

Right from the beginning of the book I liked Aubrey.  I enjoyed her thoughts about Mr. Schmexy (name given to sexy TA Daniel by Aubrey’s friend Julie). It took me a little longer to get into Daniel as he seemed a little…angry at times.  That said, the Mr. Schmexy title suits him very well.

As you read through you can’t help but feel for these two who want to be together more than anything but circumstances, current and previous, stand in the way.  It requires that they both show restraint that most people *cough* me *cough* would not manage.

With University of Toronto being the backdrop for this beautifully written story I knew I’d love it.  It’s nice to read a book and know the places being mentioned.  I am unable to drive by the Palais Royale in Toronto without thinking of this book.

You cannot read this book and not be moved by the Shakespearean quotes.   My knowledge of Shakespeare’s plays are limited to those I read in high school but I have always loved them.  What can be sexier than a hot guy quoting Shakespeare?!  Makes me swoon!!!

This book may very well have one of the funniest lines I’ve heard/read:  “The wheel is turning but the hamster is dead“.  I thought this was very funny and quite appropriate for what it was referring to.  I won’t tell you where it’s used in the book.  I’ll let you come across it yourself.  I still chuckle when I think about it.  [Yes, it’s true.  I’m easily amused]

My only complaint about this book is that it ended and I now have to wait until the second book in the series is released.

As I mentioned above, this story is beautifully written.  It was a real pleasure to read.  I think I love Georgina Guthrie. Definitely worthy of five steamy cups of java!!!

five-coffee-cups

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

4 responses to “The Book Barista: The Weight of Words by Georgina Guthrie

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

