The Book Barista: Rock Bottom (Bullet #2) by Jade C. Jamison

Logo

After having read and loved Bullet I knew I had to read Rock Bottom as soon as it was released.

Rock Bottom

Ethan Richards has fought depression and a host of other demons all his adult life, and it’s caused him to lose everything—his wife, his son, his friends, and he almost loses the one thing that means the most to him—his band. He hits rock bottom and believes there is no way out.

Enter Jenna McCormick, a feisty drug and alcohol counselor, a woman with her own share of troubles. She finds Ethan intriguing but keeps him at a distance while trying to help him face life without crutches. She feels a spark but denies it, knowing that a relationship with unstable Ethan could be dangerous for both of them.

Ethan knows what he wants, though, and isn’t used to being told no. Jenna isn’t willing to risk Ethan losing his tenuous grip on sobriety, however, and is prepared to deny her deeper feelings to help Ethan climb out of his hole, but he learns how to let go of his pain when he finds that someone is prepared to walk with him through the shadows. Can he convince Jenna that they should take a chance on love or will they forever deny their feelings in an effort to keep Ethan on the straight and narrow?

When I read Bullet back in March, I loved it so much.  It was such a roller coaster ride.  It was an incredible read.  So, when I heard that there would be a book 2 I was ecstatic.

Going into Rock Bottom I knew I had to maintain an open mind about Ethan.  Yes, he was a hot and sexy rock star but after book 1 I did not feel warm and fuzzy about him.

Well, I love Ethan!!!  After getting some insight into his past and his addiction and his effort at being sober, how can I not?!

I also love Jenna.  She takes a chance when it would’ve been safer for her not to.  With her help, Ethan becomes a better man.  Something he desperately wants, I think.

I hope this isn’t a spoiler but one of my favourite parts was when he has his first weekend with his son.  So emotional and sweet.

Of course, it’s not all easy peasy.  There were a couple of scenes in this book that I found heart wrenching and yes, I cried like the big sap that I am.

I often thank authors for writing great stories with great characters so, THANK YOU Jade C. Jamison for writing great books.  And thank you for allowing Ethan to redeem himself.

I’m sure you aren’t surprised that Rock Bottom gets 5 steaming cups from me.

five-coffee-cups

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

2 responses to “The Book Barista: Rock Bottom (Bullet #2) by Jade C. Jamison

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

