The Book Barista: Against The Ropes by Sarah Castille

Logo

I received this ARC from Net Galley in exchange for my honest opinion.  The release date is set for September 3, 2013.

AgainstTheRopes

He scared me. He thrilled me. And after one touch, all I could think about was getting more…

Makayla never thought she’d set foot in an underground mixed-martial arts club. But if anyone needs a medic on hand, it’s these guys. Trouble is, at her first sight of the club’s owner she’s the one feeling breathless.

All sleek muscle and restrained power, the man they call Torment plays to win at any cost. Whether it’s in the ring or in the bedroom, he knows exactly when to use a soft touch and when to launch a full-on assault. He always knows just how far he can push. And he’s about to tempt Makayla in ways she never imagined…

Those that know me, know that I love Biker books and Rock Star books the most.  That said, I love me some Fighter books, too.  So, when I saw the cover for this I thought I’d want to read it and I am so glad I did.

I really liked Makayla.  I thought she was very funny.  I wasn’t sure how she’d handle watching Torment fight seeing as she has an aversion to violence.  Being a medic at the facility where underground MMA fighting occurs may not seem like the best idea but ultimately she loves to help people so it worked out well for the most part.

Torment, who we later find out has a real name, is sexy, rich, tattooed and….well, need I say more?  He’s instantly attracted to Makayla and like most alpha males, won’t take ‘no’ for an answer.  As if he wasn’t yummy enough already, he rides a motorcycle. GAHHH!!!!!

Both have some issues from their pasts and both need to get to the root of these issues before they can make their relationship work.

Be warned that there is a bit of BDSM in this book but nothing too heavy (at least I didn’t think so).

One of the little things I enjoyed in this book was their texting.  Their text messages to each other were cute.

Overall, it was an enjoyable read so I gave it 4 steaming cups of java.

four-coffee-cups

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

