My Pet Peeves

The Scream by Edvard Munch

I’m a pretty agreeable person.  No really! I am!!!! But just like anyone else, I’ve got a few pet peeves that drive me crazy!!!!

The word “Irregardless”

This is one of those words that so many people use and it drives me batshit crazy.  The word should be regardless!!!!  Out of curiosity, I went to Urban Dictionary to see its definition for the non-word and this is what I found:

1.  Used by people who ignorantly mean to say regardless. According to Webster, it is a word, but since the prefix “ir” and the suffix “less” both mean “not or with” they cancel each other out, so what you end up with is regard. When you use this to try to say you don’t care about something, you end up saying that you do. Of course everyone knows what you mean to say and only a pompous, rude asshole will correct you.

2. A word used by uneducated people intending to sound intelligent. Often, the defendant will use this word in court in an attempt to impress the judge and jury. Educated people notice and those who use this word instantly identify themselves to educated people as being uneducated. Educated people rarely correct them because it helps educated people more easily identify them if they are well-groomed.

3. This is not a fucking word… WTF!!

I’m sure that I don’t need to tell you that the third definition is my favourite. LOL  [Note: I went to Urban Dictionary just because it’s far more amusing than a regular dictionary! 🙂]

Empty boxes/containers left in the pantry or fridge

It can’t be just me that hates this.  Is there anything more annoying than going into the pantry or fridge to get something only to find that there is nothing left but the container it came in?   [W4R:  What bugs me is when someone leaves very little left in something not enough for a drink or meal & acts like it’s no biggie!]  Why does it seem that I am the only person in my household that is perturbed by this?  There are three other people at my house and not a single one of them could care less that there is an empty juice carton in the fridge or that there is an empty cereal box in the pantry.  Not to mention that it was one of those three people who put said empty container back in the fridge or pantry. [Note to self:  Install cameras in fridge and pantry and catch the perpetrator(s) red-handed].

Toilet paper - over and under AKA right and wrong

Toilet Paper Rolls

Ah yes, toilet paper rolls at my house could trigger an hour-long discussion.  No matter how many times I explain to my family members about the “right” way to insert a toilet paper roll, my words (some may call them rants) seem to fall on deaf ears.  Don’t even get me started on family members who apparently have difficulty in replacing empty toilet paper rolls.  [Note:  All of the above mentioned applies to paper towel rolls as well.]

Other Drivers

There are so many things that annoy me about other drivers but at the moment, the thing that most stands out in my mind is drivers that slow down to 2km an hour to go over train tracks.  REALLY?!!! Unless your car is 100 years old and falling apart I think it’s shocks can withstand going over the tracks at a faster speed.  This links into my fear of being stuck behind an asshole inching over the tracks as I look over and see a train headed my way.  [Note:  Sorry.  that should go into another post about my fears and phobias.]

Robert Pattinson

[W4R:  *Happppy claps* LOL] This is my blog so of course there has to be something Rob-related in this post.  Yes, it’s true!  I have pet peeves about Rob.  Not Rob directly!  He’s perfect!!! [w4R:  Amen.] *snickers*  Other people’s thoughts and comments about Rob.

It’s ROBERT PATTINSON! Not Patterson!  Not Pattson! Not Edward! And Not “the sparkly guy from Twilight“!!!! [W4R:  Not Patrick Robertson?!]

Yes, he’s most well-known for his role as Edward in Twilight but he’s so much more than that.  If you haven’t had the chance or the pleasure, please do yourself a favour and watch Remember Me, Water For Elephants and The Bad Mother’s Handbook.  He’s charming and beautiful and a pleasure to watch.

It also annoys me to hear people say “he’s not THAT good-looking”. My jaw just drops!!!!  I know beauty is in the eye of the beholder and that not everyone thinks he’s THE SEXIEST MAN ALIVE (which he is – People Magazine take note) but come on!!!!  You just have to admit that the boy is very Very VERY attractive. [W4R:  Yes, please, hallelujah & AMEN!]

I’d like to go into the whole Robsten/Nonsten issue but…that’s a whole other post. [W4R:  Don’t forget the Crapsten team while you’re at it.. you’ve gotta be equal opportunity here! LOL]

Thanks for letting me get some of those off my chest.  I could go on but I think I’ll save some for another day on another post.

[W4R:  I hope you feel better now… 😉  I shall submit my bill to you in exchange for the chocolate pudding you’ve promised me LOL]

**Writing4Roses is kind enough to look over my ramblings to make sure I’m dotting all my Is and crossing all my Ts (and to add the odd witty comment every here and there).

About Stefter

I love to talk about books, hot guys and anything else I need to get off my chest. View all posts by Stefter

2 responses to “My Pet Peeves

  • Plumcrazyyy

    I agree with you on just about everything you have listed, well except the toilet paper thing. Either way on the roll is fine with me, shoot, just for it to be ON the roll holder thing is a merical in itself LOL
    Oh and my kids use to call Rob Edward- but I corrected that right quick. Yep most of my family & friends know to call him “Rob” or “Your Boryfriend, lover, husband etc.”
    great post

  • itsjustme1217

    I’m right there with you Stef

Leave a comment. Tell me how you really feel.

